Senator Ken Yager announces $261,768 in recycling grants for Senate District 12

NASHVILLE – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) announced today that $261,768 in recycling grants have been awarded in Senate District 12.  The projects were among $2.1 million in fiscal year 2017 recycling grants announced by the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation to reduce landfill waste in Tennessee.

The Senate District 12 counties receiving major grants include Campbell, Pickett, Fentress, and Roane.

“Grants like these are extremely beneficial to meet our local recycling goals,” said Senator Yager.  “I congratulate our county officials for their diligent work in securing these grants to help in recycling and conservation efforts.”

The grants include:

  • $94,600 awarded to Campbell county for seven collection tanks, seven canopies, seven pads, two crushers, two pumps, two absorbents, one storage tank, one DOT trailer, and one heater;
  • $49,500 awarded to Fentress county for one 24-foot box truck;
  • $50,00 awarded to Roane county for truck scales; and
  • A combined total of $67,668 awarded in used oil and recycling grants to Pickett County for environmental efforts.

“This grant program encourages and supports local communities to meet their solid waste and recycling goals,” said TDEC Commissioner Bob Martineau “Local governments can divert more waste from landfills through infrastructure upgrades and providing convenient opportunities for residents to get engaged in the process.”


Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos