Lt. Governor Ramsey appoints Senator McNally to Lottery Stabilization Task Force

(Nashville) – Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville) today appointed local State Senator Randy McNally to the Lottery Stabilization Task Force.  The Task Force will make recommendations to keep the program viable on a long-term basis to ensure scholarships are there for students who earn them.

“I am very pleased to be appointed to this committee,” said Senator McNally, who also serves as Senate Finance Chairman.  “Keeping our promises to students who are receiving lottery scholarships should be priority.  In order to achieve this goal, we must make sure the fund is stable, especially during the current economic climate.  I look forward to working with this Task Force to maximize our potential to give students every opportunity we can to gain or hold a lottery scholarship.”

“It is critical that the lottery scholarship program be run in a fiscally responsible manner so our best and brightest students will have a scholarship opportunity in Tennessee,” said Lt. Governor Ramsey (R-Blountville).  “Higher education is a key component to job creation and creating new jobs is my highest priority.  I am confident this group will provide solutions which will keep the scholarship program healthy over time.”

The members appointed by Lt. Governor Ramsey are:

Dr. Claude Pressnell, Jr., President of the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association
Dr. Rich Rhoda, Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and Interim Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.
Chancellor Charles Manning, head of the Tennessee Board of Regents
Dr. Jan Simek, Interim President of the University of Tennessee

Legislative members:
Speaker Pro Tem Jamie Woodson, Co-Chairman
Senator Dolores Gresham, Chairman of the Senate Education Committee
Senator Reginald Tate, Vice-Chairman of the Senate Education Committee
Senator Randy McNally, Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee
Senator Douglas Henry, Vice-Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee

Constitutional Officers:

Secretary of State Tre Hargett
Comptroller of the Treasury Justin Wilson
Treasurer of Tennessee David Lillard

Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos