Joint Republican Caucus names Constitutional Officer nominees

January 12, 2009

Joint Republican Caucus names
Constitutional Officer nominees
Hargett, Lillard, Wilson named nominees

(Nashville, January 12, 2009) – The Joint Republican Caucus today named their nominees for the state’s three constitutional offices—Secretary of State, Treasurer and Comptroller. Tre Hargett, a former House leader, was chosen as the Republican nominee for Secretary of State, while David Lillard, an attorney and former President of the Tennessee County Commissioners Association, was named as the nominee for Treasurer. Justin Wilson, the lone applicant for the office, will be the nominee for the office of

Senate and House Republican leaders opted to open the process through which they chose candidates this year, allowing prospective nominees to apply to their offices, and conducting open interviews that were live streamed via the Internet.

“I am very pleased with the decision to open the process, and I feel we have three very qualified nominees,” said Leader Jason Mumpower. “I look forward to electing them to their prospective offices on Wednesday.”

“I appreciate the diligence and unity of the Caucus in this important decision. The people of Tennessee will be well served by these nominees,” said Leader Mark Norris.

The nominees must now be elected by the Joint Convention, which is scheduled for Wednesday, January 12, 2009 at 10 a.m.

# # #

Left to right, Tre Hargett, nominee for Secretary of State and David Lillard, nominee for Treasurer.

Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos