Yager elected to East Tennessee Development District Board

(NASHVILLE, TN), February 18, 2011  — State Senator Ken Yager (R-Harriman) was recently named to the East Tennessee Development District Association Board (ETDD). Yager was elected by other legislators located in the East Tennessee region to serve on Board.

“I am very pleased to be elected to the East Tennessee Development District Board,” said Yager.  “I appreciate the confidence that my colleagues have in me and look forward to serving the people who live within the boundaries of this district.  I will remain available to citizens and welcome any input on how we can serve more people and bring new jobs to this area.”

ETDD provides sixteen counties and fifty-six municipalities with planning and development services while also serving as a forum for local governments to solve common problems associated with economic development and growth.  Organized in 1966, the East Tennessee Development District continues to be a vital force in helping local governments plan for the future by coordinating the establishment of regional and local priorities within the fields of economic and community development.

Through a Development District, a community can offer its residents a broad range of community-related services and infrastructure to help ensure the highest quality of life possible. The Development District provides a wide range of services from solid waste planning to aid to the elderly.

Yager is presently serving his third year in the Tennessee General Assembly.  He represents the 12th legislative district in the State Senate and serves as Chairman of the Senate State and Local Government Committee.  Before being elected to the State Senate, Yager served as Roane County Executive.



Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos