Senator Yager announces major CDBG grants for 12th Senatorial District

(NASHVILLE, Tenn.), September 8, 2014 — – State Senator Ken Yager has announced that 10 major Community Development Block (CDBG) grants from the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development have been awarded to counties and cities in the 12th senatorial district.  The CDBG annual grants are federally funded and highly competitive.


“The 12th Senatorial District has fared well in this round of block grants,” said Senator Yager.  “All 10 applications submitted by counties in our district were approved.  This speaks well for the professional applications submitted by local officials, as well as the need for infrastructure improvement.  The grants in our district total $4,242,000 which is a significant investment coming into these cities and counties.”


  • Fentress County – $315,000 (Ambulance Project)


  • Pickett County – $233,000 (Star Point Fire Station)


  • Caryville – $315,000 (Roadway Drainage Improvements)


  • Oliver Springs – $525,000 (Sewer System Improvements)


  • Lafollette – $525,000 (Sewer System Improvements)


  • Scott County – $525,000 (Wastewater System Improvements)


  • Jamestown – $508,000 (Sewer System Improvements)


  • Spring City – $353,000 (Sanitary Sewer System I&I Investigation and Rehabilitation)


  • Morgan County – $525,000 (Clean Water Project)


  • Allardt – $418,000 (Water System Improvements)


The CDBG funds were allocated under a procedure authorized by the Tennessee General Assembly.



Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos