Senator Yager and Representative Cobb congratulate Frazier Elementary for major achievement award

(NASHVILLE, TN, October 26, 2011) – Rhea County lawmakers, State Senator Ken Yager (R-Harriman) and Representative Jim Cobb (R-Spring City) today congratulated Frazier Elementary for being chosen as a 2011 “Blue Ribbon School.”  The award is given in conjunction with the U.S. Department of Education’s No Child Left Behind program to honor those schools which attain high academic goals and for their efforts to close achievement gaps.

Frazier Elementary is one of only six schools in Tennessee were chosen for the award.  It was chosen in the category of “improving achievement” which goes to schools that have dramatically improved student achievement to high levels.

“This is a major achievement award,” said Senator Yager.   “We congratulate Principal Gayle Kelley, the teachers, parents and students for receiving this recognition for excellence in education improvement.”

Cobb said the school will receive $2,500 and recognition during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November.

 “I know we will continue to see great success from this school in the future,” Cobb continued.  “This is a well-deserved recognition and we are proud of all the hard work done at this exceptional school.”


Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos