Sen. Yager announces ThreeStar Competitive Grants awarded in all counties in District 12

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) announced today that all seven counties in Senate District 12 have been awarded ThreeStar Competitive Grants from the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development (TNECD). The grants, with a combined total of $125,000, will be used for a variety of local programs to support local health, public safety, economic development and education initiatives.

“I welcome this major investment into my Senate District,” said Yager. “The ThreeStar grants ensure our local officials have the means to make our communities and economies thrive.  Our communities will reflect the benefits of these investments in both new and existing ThreeStar programs for years to come.”

The ThreeStar Grants include awards of $25,000 to Campbell County, $15,000 to Fentress County, $25,000 to Morgan County, $15,000 to Rhea County, $15,000 to Pickett County, $5,000 to Roane County and $25,000 to Scott County.  The grants were awarded to 60 recipients statewide.

Participation in the ThreeStar program is based on an annual evaluation and activity plan to demonstrate individual readiness. Local community leaders and Joint Economic and Community Development Boards are encouraged to implement activities that will impact the community’s competitiveness in a global economy.

“Congratulations to the local officials and Chambers of Commerce for their cooperative efforts in securing these grants,” added Yager. “I was happy to support them and am excited to see the many ways these counties will benefit from these funds.”


Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos