Sen. Gresham advised local counties will receive disaster relief

 (NASHVILLE, TN), January 9, 2012 — State Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) said today she is very pleased that the federal government has approved numerous West Tennessee counties to receive federal assistance for agriculture as a result of severe weather, including drought and excessive heat in 2011.  The lawmaker was notified by Governor Bill Haslam’s office and other state officials regarding the requests made last month and subsequent declaration.

“Many area farms were affected by the drought and severe,” said Senator Gresham.  “This action should allow residents to access needed disaster funds.”

West Tennessee counties designated as primary natural disaster areas include Fayette and Haywood.  The secretarial disaster designation allows farmers in primary and adjoining counties to apply for Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments to help recover lost income, low-interest loans and other assistance through local USDA Farm Service Agency offices.
Adjoining West Tennessee counties where farmers can also apply for assistance include Crockett, Hardeman, and Tipton. 
Farmers in affected counties reported crop losses in excess of 30 percent for corn, soybeans, tobacco, pastures, hay and some specialty crops. For the latest crop forecast and statistics on Tennessee’s farm production, visit the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service, Tennessee Field Office online at

Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos