Norris reelected to serve on Southern States Energy Board Executive Committee

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Senate Majority Leader Mark Norris (R-Collierville) was reelected to serve on the Executive Committee of the Southern States Energy Board at its annual meeting held September 25-27 in Rogers, Arkansas.

The nonprofit energy organization serves board members representing 16 states and two territories and is led by an executive committee of 12 members.

“Tennessee’s membership on the Southern States Energy Board is important, and I’m proud to serve in its leadership. Access to efficient energy keeps Tennessee competitive. Innovation in energy and environment enhances economic development and quality of life. It keeps us safe. It keeps us strong. SSEB helps keep Tennessee where we need to be, and I’m proud to be part of it,” said Norris.

Norris has served on the Southern States Energy Board since he was first appointed by Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey in February 2009.

The theme for this year’s annual meeting was “The Role of States in Navigating America’s Energy Economy.”

Gov. Asa Hutchinson, of Arkansas, will lead the board as chairman for a second consecutive year. “Building knowledgeable policy-makers who can respond to state needs and assist the region’s stakeholders in their quest for better solutions through technology-based decision making is a continuing priority of the board,” said Gov. Hutchinson.

Gov. Phil Bryant, of Mississippi, will serve as chairman-elect. Rep. Rocky Adkins, of Kentucky, will continue his role as the board’s vice-chairman. Oklahoma Rep. Weldon Watson will continue his role as the board’s treasurer.

Gov. Kenneth Mapp, of the U.S. Virgin Islands; Rep. Randy Davis, of Alabama; Rep. William E. Sandifer, III, of South Carolina; and Sen. Eddie Joe Williams, of Arkansas, will fill the remaining executive committee seats.

Rep. Lynn Smith, of Georgia, will continue to serve the board’s executive committee as the SLC Energy & Environment Committee Chair. Kenneth Nemeth, SSEB’s executive director, will continue to serve as secretary to the board.

About Southern States Energy Board

The Southern States Energy Board (SSEB) is a non-profit interstate compact organization created in 1960 and established under Public Laws 87-563 and 92-440. The Board’s mission is to enhance economic development and the quality of life in the South through innovations in energy and environmental policies, programs and technologies. Sixteen southern states and two territories comprise the membership of SSEB: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia and West Virginia

# # #

Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos