Norris Announces Local Arts Grant

June 26, 2009

Norris Announces Local Arts Grant

     NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Tennessee Senate Majority Leader Mark Norris (R-Collierville) has released the list of grant award recipients from the Tennessee Arts Commission for Fiscal Year 2010 (July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010) in the 32nd Senatorial District.  These include the Covington Integrated Arts Academy in Tipton County.

In announcing the awards, Senator Norris emphasized the contributions the arts make to the quality of life in Tennessee communities. Norris also pointed out that the Tennessee Arts Commission’s matching grants are made possible through an appropriation of state funds by the General Assembly, federal dollars from the National Endowment for the Arts, and by Tennesseans who purchase specialty and collegiate license plates.

Of the Commission, Norris said, “I am proud that, through minimal contributions from multiple sources, the Arts Commission is still able to provide great support to my district and all over the state.  The arts benefit us culturally and economically and are an important part of one’s education. Ultimately, they help create ‘the Tennessee experience.’”

“This state is indeed fortunate to have elected leaders who support the work of the Tennessee Arts Commission in building better communities through the arts,” said Kim McClamroch, incoming chair of the Tennessee Arts Commission.

According to McClamroch, the Commission will award over 850 grants during Fiscal Year 2010.  These funds have a direct impact on communities across Tennessee, in both urban and rural areas, covering a wide range of categories. The Commission’s allocation process involves a review by citizen advisory panels made up of Tennesseans with expertise in appropriate arts disciplines and a review and final approval by the full 15-members Tennessee Arts Commission.

The Tennessee Arts Commission is a state agency that funds and supports quality arts experiences that add value to the lives of every citizen and enhances the quality of life in Tennessee communities.  Additional information on grant programs offered by the Arts Commission is available at

A member of the General Assembly Arts Caucus, Senator Norris represents the West Tennessee Counties of Shelby, Tipton, Lauderdale, and Dyer.


Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos