Governor Haslam appoints Sen. Gresham to working group reviewing school safety

(NASHVILLE), March 5, 2018 – Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Senate Education Committee Chairman Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) to a working group reviewing school safety in Tennessee.  The 17-member group is comprised of leaders from the executive branch, education, mental health and safety.  Gresham is one of four members of the General Assembly appointed to the study.

“Nothing is more important than keeping our students safe and secure at school,” said Sen. Gresham.  “These students deserve nothing less than our best efforts to ensure this and I look forward to working with this group to make our schools safer.”

The Governor’s School Safety Working Group will convene this week to review the policies, procedures and process of developing and implementing those plans, as well as other school safety measures, including communication and collaboration among law enforcement, educators and mental health professionals.  The first recommendations from the group are expected to be delivered before the General Assembly adjourns in April.

Other members of the group, which will be chaired by Department of Safety and Homeland Security Commissioner David Purkey, include:

  • Greg Adams, Chief Operating Officer, Office of the Governor
  • Paul Bailey
  • David Byrd
  • Sheriff John Fuson, Montgomery County Sheriff’s Department
  • Mike Herrmann, Executive Director of Conditions for Learning, Department of Education
  • Jeff Hicks, School Resource Officer Supervisor, Blount County Sheriff’s Office
  • Gen. Keith Huber, U.S. Army, Retired
  • Abbey Kidwell, Teacher, South Clinton Elementary School, Clinton City Schools
  • Candice McQueen, Commissioner, Department of Education
  • Cindy Minnis, School Psychologist, Metro Nashville Public Schools
  • Jack Parton, Superintendent, Sevier County Schools
  • Altha Stewart, University of Tennessee, Incoming President of American Psychiatric Association
  • Sonia Stewart,  Principal, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School, Metro Nashville Public Schools
  • Marie Williams, Commissioner, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
  • Ryan Williams






Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos