Beavers appointed Chairman of Judiciary

January 19, 2007

Beavers appointed Chairman of

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — State Sen. Mae Beavers (R-Mt. Juliet) has been appointed Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee by Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville).

“This is a great honor and a great opportunity for the citizens of the 17th senatorial district,” says Sen. Beavers. “I appreciate the confidence that Lieutenant Governor Ramsey has in my abilities as a state legislator.”

Every two years the members of the Tennessee General Assembly gather in Nashville to elect a speaker for each house and organize for the upcoming legislative session.  With the election of  Sen. Ramsey as speaker of the state Senate and lieutenant governor of Tennessee, he has the authority to select committee membership and chairmen.

The Senate has nine standing committees that consider proposed legislation before it reaches the full Senate for final action.  Each committee is made up of nine senators, with the exception of the Finance, Ways and Means Committee and the Government Operations Committee that have 11 members each.

Sen. Beavers is currently serving her second term in the state Senate, after serving four terms in the state House of Representatives.  Prior to being elected to the legislature, Sen. Beavers worked as a paralegal and a court reporter.

“The state Senate has a new vision and a new direction,” commented Sen. Beavers.  “I am excited about being a part of this historic change in Tennessee.”

# # #

Search News by Member

Follow us on Twitter

Flickr Photos